Iyengar Yoga Studio
Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

What is Yoga? – The Ultimate Union


Is yoga means head stand or turning and twisting the body? controlling breath or stillness of mind? A form of work out to drop that excess body weight, building up the muscle? Or some sort of religion originated from India? Or is it totally something else?

The word “Yoga” takes its origin from Sanskrit language which is one of the oldest languages of the world and  it means “union”. Yoga definition; essentially, “that which brings you to reality”. 


Yoga is not just for the  physical experience. Through yoga, one can explore and experiencing the inner nature of the existence or essence. This results in conscious action.


Essentially in the tradition, once we attach the word “Yoga” to anything, it indicates that it is a complete path by itself.- Sadhguru.


Just4Health Yoga Classes and Program


Different school from ancient time in India have adopted different approach to reach the ultimate reality. At Just4Health, Shruti Nagendra has been trained in Hatha Yoga and Ashtanga Yoga.

At Just4Health, Yoga classes are conducted in its full depth and dimensions and communicated on the experiential level. Tailored to suits individuals need.

Are you looking to  start Yoga Classes at Just4Health?

At Just4Health before commencing with the  any classes or program you will be asked to take up the Initial Short health Assessment (ISHA) for 30 minutes. Short health assessment has been designed to determine physical health, energy level and stress level and know about the medical history and this is not intended to be diagnosis rather it helps indicates the level of fitness and helps to tailor the program or classes.


About Hatha Yoga and Ashtanga Yoga

Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga comes from the Sanskrit word ‘Ha’ means ‘prana’, ‘tha’ represents ‘mind’. Hatha yoga aims to bring about a state of harmony between the pranic & mental forces through its practices.

Hatha yoga is a style of yogic practice wherein the emphasis is on the practice of Asanas (postures), Pranayama’s (specialized breathing techniques), Shatkarmas (cleansing techniques), Mudras (symbols) & Bandhas (seals or locks).

The aim of this approach is to bring about a state of detoxification and rejuvenation of Annamaya, Pranayama koshas, which would help us to get into higher practices of Dhyana (meditation) & Samadhi (contemplation).

The higher practices in turn would help us to get to the other planes namely Manomaya & Vijnanamaya koshas promoting harmony and leading to Anandamaya state of being.



Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is nothing but eight limbed yoga, originally proposed by Patanjali maharishi.

The eight steps mentioned are:


  1. Yama (moral codes)

  2. Niyama (self code of conduct)

  3. Asana (posture)

  4. Pranayama (breath control)

  5. Pratyahara (sense control)

  6. Dharana (concentration)

  7. Dhyana (meditation)

  8. Samadhi (contemplation)

Yama, Niyama, Asana & Pranayama are considered to be the external practices which help to bring about a state of perfect synchrony of all the organs, organ systems & functions of the body and also cleanse or purify the physical system of its toxins. These four limbs are also considered to be part of Bahiranga yoga and address Annamaya, Pranamaya & partially Manomaya koshas.
Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana & Samadhi are considered as internal practices which help to fetch a state of harmony of our higher functions at Manomaya & Vijnanamaya koshas leading to our true nature which is Anandamaya.